Raw, vegan Chia Walnut Pudding

The other day, I was cleaning out my cupboards and found half a packet of chia seeds, next to half a pack of walnuts. Both expired last month, and I decided to quickly make them into something now.

I wasn`t quite keen on the chia seeds when I first tried them (hence, they were still there), but just recently, I half read a receipe for something called “turkish delight chia pudding”, and without referring to the book again, created what turned out to be an absolute winner.

ingredients

2 1/2 cups of walnuts

a few drops of vanilla essence

1 heaped tbsp of icing sugar (or other sweetener)

2/3 cup of chia seeds

1 tsb of rose water

nut milk

You can use any nuts, but I had walnuts to use up, and I found them very suitable for the Turkish theme, too.

Soaking the nuts overnight first starts the digestion process and makes nuts and their milk easier on your stomach. I guess, it also makes it easier to remove the bitter skin. I didn`t bother, though 🙂

I just put 4 cups of filtered water (water first!!) and 2 1/2 cups of walnuts into my food processor, added a few drops of vanilla essence and 1 heaped tbsp of icing sugar (I tried without sugar first, but was definitely needed! Feel free to substitute with something healthier) and blitzed everything to a homogenous paste.

Strain through a musslin cloth (or whatever suitable thing you may have to hand) into a nice container.

You can use the nut paste to bake with (mental note to self: find, try and blog receipes!) or as a body scrub. It freezes, in case you`re not yet sure about what you want to do with it.

Chia Pudding

Into the milk, pour 2/3 cup of chia seeds and 1 tsp of rose water. Mix. Wait. It shouldn`t take 10 mins for the chia seeds to become soft and gelatinise. Add more water, if the pudding becomes too thick for your liking. (Measurements don`t have to be exact in this recipe, as you can adjust to taste at any stage! And you definitely cannot mess up by using too little or too much of anything…)

If you want to maintain the Turkish theme, you may want to decorate with some pomegranate seeds – I used passion fruit, which, once again, is what I had.

*

I had this for breakfast this morning and totally underestimated how filling this is (after all it was only a quarter of a third of a cup of chia seeds!!) – my other half kindly finished it for me.

I apologize for the photos which were not styled but simply snapped during preparation. I hanged the cloth off a kitchen cupboard and let the milk drop down, but eventually, I did have to squeeze…

Photo 16-04-2017, 18 16 52-copy for blogPhoto 16-04-2017, 18 18 28-copy for blog 4Photo 17-04-2017, 07 49 08Photo 17-04-2017, 07 49 23 copy for blog7

2 thoughts on “Raw, vegan Chia Walnut Pudding

Leave a Reply

